Online Reviews for An Enhanced You, Robert Lowen, MD, on RealSelf, Yelp, and Others.

RealSelf.com

 Updated November 21, 2012

“All I Can Say Is- Wow

Posted by jlr819 -Bay Area

I had cellulaze done in mid April and the results have been fantastic. I, like many of the women on the forum, am of normal weight, but have been cursed with cellulite since my early 30′s (43 now). While there is definitely still some bumpiness, there is noticeable smoothing and skin tightening. I also had laser lipo on my saddlebags and inner thighs (honestly didn’t notice them before because I was so distracted by my cellulite!) and the overall results have been stunning. I actually didn’t experience much bruising (and I bruise VERY easily)–my MD uses these foam pads against the area, under the compression garment, which apparently lessens the bruising. If you are considering the procedure, don’t expect to come out looking like a Sports Illustrated model–the results are great, but not perfection.
I did experience a little more pain than I thought I would, but it was mostly discomfort when sitting. In my opinion, the promotional videos minimize the amount of pain.

The results of the cellulaze plus lipo were much better than I expected, but I went into the procedure thinking that even a 10-20% improvement would make me happy. I’d say I got a 50-60% improvement. My boyfriend was speechless, and the “all I can say is wow” tag line came from his response after he was able to speak.

Posted July 11, 2012

I’ve been going to Dr Lowen for several years for botox, etc., but had never undergone a major procedure. When Dr Lowen started offering Cellulaze in early April, I signed up immediately. He is extremely focused during procedures and doesn’t hesitate to take the extra time to make things as perfect as they can be. It truly seems to be an art for him. I appreciate his skill and would definitely go to him for other procedures. The office staff (Kimberly and Tiffany) are warm, friendly, and make the overall experience great.

November 7, 2012

“Best in the Bay Area!-Mountain View, CA”

Posted byDeeChloe in Mountain View, CA

He came highly recommended and the amount of care he gave me was exceptional. At my initial consult Dr. Lowen spent almost two hours examining me and giving me the time to try on different bras, shirts, sizes just to make sure he understood my needs and expectation. All of this before I even made a commitment. After 6 different consultations I knew he was the one. The best perfectionist and precise plastic surgeon out there.

October 25th, 2012

“Changed My Life”-Mountain View, CA”

Posted by MYDupaya in Mountain View, CA

I’ve always had problems with acne and scarring since I was a kid. I’m 38 now and it was time to do something. Actually Dr. Lowen recommended it and it changed my life. I don’t have to wear much makeup and my face doesn’t have breakouts. He put me on a Obagi skin regimen first before we went to the laser which I thought was great. It was a super easy procedure and I will go back to do touch ups. The recovery time was a week or 2.

Dr. Lowen, Kimberly and Tiffany are great. I feel like family when I go there. I found Dr. Lowen through a referral. He performed my breast implants first which turned out fantastic. Then I went back to do laser resurfacing on my face. He didn’t push doing laser first. Dr. Lowen will be my doctor forever. I totally recommend him.

December 20th, 2011

I Highly Recommend – Mountain View, CA

Posted by Kashin in Hayward, CA

After numerous visits, I am more than pleased at the service I receive here. Office is clean and the staff always greets.Very reasonably priced laser hair removal package. You can combine multiple sites and get an awesome deal. I get a remainder call the day before my appointment and they always see me exactly on time.

November 11th, 2011

Surgery Was Great, Fast and Beautiful. Went Back to Work Same Day of Surgery . Felt Great! – Mountain View, CA

Posted by lina5275

Dr. Lowen is so well organized and everything went so nicely. He answered all my questions and even called me at home after surgery to see how I was doing. I’ve called the office many times and spoke with Kimberly and always got my questions answered. Kimberly spoke from experience which I felt was very important. Great doctor, excellent work!

Breast Implant Revision – Totally Worth It! – Mountain View, CA

Posted by SRrdngz in Alameda, CA

Dr Lowen was recommended to me by a very close friend of mine who had her breasts done by him, as well as smart lypo. She is extremely happy with the results and so am I. I am so glad I went ahead with the revision. They feel so amazing and look great. The surgery took an hour longer than he had anticipated because my pockets were too large. He took the time to close them up leaving me extremely satisfied. You can trust this doctor with your body. He will take care of you. Thank you Dr. Lowen!

Vein Treatment

September 14th, 2010

Totally Worth It! – Mountain View

Posted by beckaw in SF Bay Area

I have had several procedures performed by Dr. L and I have been very happy with them all. He is a top doctor and he cares about the outcome of each procedure.

Tummy Tuck

September 14th, 2010

Worth It! – Mountain View, CA

Posted by beckaw in SF Bay Area

Dr. L is always up to date with the latest procedures. I believe that he really cares about performing the best possible outcome for each patient. I have had several procedures performed by him and I have been pleased with everything.

SmartLipo MPX

September 14th, 2010

Yea! – Mountain View

Posted by beckaw in SF Bay Area

I have had several procedures performed by Dr. L and I have been happy with them all. He is a fantastic doctor.

Lipoma Removal

November 2nd, 2011

Great Experience Removing Multiple Lipomas – Mountain View, CA

Posted by Clipper in San Francisco, CA

Perlane

September 14th, 2010

My Very First Facial Filler

Posted by beckaw in SF Bay Area

Dr. L is very experienced and professional. I have been very happy with the multiple procedures that he has performed for me.

October 6th, 2011

Great No-nonsense Doctor – Mountain View, CA

Posted by anonimiss in Santa Clara, CA

 

 

Yelp

Kashki P.
Hayward, Ca.

12/20/2011

I have been getting hair laser treatment and the results have been great. Dr. Lowen is a no nonsense and knowledgeabledoctor. He also takes the time to explain things.

The staffs (Sidney & Kimberly) are super nice too, professional, helpful and caring.
Lobbies and rooms are spotlessly clean.

Julie P.

Sunnyvale, CA

8/11/2011

I had a breast augmentation by Dr. Lowen in 1997. I have been absolutely happy with my implants for all these years. I also recommended him to several of my girlfriends who also had great experiences. I recently went to see him about “fixing” my breasts which had sagged a bit after breastfeeding two children since my initial augmentation. He was very helpful and his suggestions were not pushy at all. I will definitely go back to him for future work as I get older. He does have a quirky personality, but who cares? He is polite and respectful and he is a perfectionist. He doesn’t need to have a great conversation with my breasts while I’m under anesthesia.

Kristin G.

Palo Alto, C

4/13/2011

I have nothing but spectacular things to say about my experience with Dr. Lowen & his wonderful staff!  Sydney and Kimberly (office staff) are incredibly sweet women.  I initially saw Dr. Lowen the beginning of the year – amongst other concerns, we discussed veins on my right hip. He immediately referred me to a vascular surgeon (Dr. Shaheen, who I also had a great experience with). Kimberly followed up with me 2x’s to see how the surgery on my hip went, etc.

I recently attended his April Open House and met several of his other potential clients and clients. I had a really great evening and made some new friends – which was nice since I’m new to the area.
Dr. Lowen is definitely ONE OF THE BEST in his profession and takes much pride and precision in his work.  If you have any additional questions feel free to contact me to further discuss my experience/procedure with Dr. Lowen.

mai d.

San Jose, CA

2/7/2011

I have a tummy tuck for 3 months, It’s wonderful, I’m very happy now. Thanks Dr.Lowen, you do a great job.

Deb M.

Concord, CA

1/26/2011

Got a breast augmentation from Dr. Lowen. He did an awesome job and my recovery was so quick I was back to work in a couple of days. Virtually no pain, even without meds.

Phylis M.

Gilroy, CA

1/20/2011

I am 6 weeks into having my “tummy tuck” with Dr. Lowen and all I can say is “Thank You!” I have had the best results any girl can ask for! I have read the other reviews and I think he is the best surgeon by far and his staff has been nothing but wonderful.  Dr. Lowen is a perfectionist, and he is not the typical plastic surgeon that you see on T.V. He is someone who eats and sleeps by his craft.  If you take the time to really get to know him, he is a very wonderful, smart person. It is always my personal goal to make him laugh and relax during my appts. I have already gone down one dress size and I am still recovering. The scar I have is so thin already it looks amazing, and my tummy is even better and tighter than when I was 18 years old!! His staff always takes the time to talk everything through with me and has told me on many occasions to call them day or night (by the special number they give us) if there are any problems before the next morning.  They have a side door to let you in when you are just coming in a few days after your surgery so no one else can see you thru the front. They walk you to your car, they are there for you all the way through this process! I had no major pain after surgery…just swollen and uncomfortableness and the pain pump was just enough to get me through the first 3 days. I never had to take the major pain medication and within a few weeks was back on my feet and driving around town. You really want a doctor who knows what he is doing, cares deeply about doing the job right! I would go back to him in a heartbeat!!

Kate B.

Morgan Hill, CA

1/10/2011

Dr. Lowen is extremely gifted.  I highly recommend him to anyone who is considering any type of plastic surgery.  While it might take a few appointments to develop a rapport (and even then, it’s still a little distant), he is extremely knowledgeable, honest and thorough.  It’s clear he loves what he does.  He is a perfectionist (which is what you want/need in a plastic surgeon) and truly cares about his patients’ well being.

I had considered breast augmentation for many years and after a lot of thinking, research & talking to friends/relatives who’d had it, I finally (and nervously) decided to pursue it.  I interviewed a few doctors and while I didn’t feel a connection with Lowen at first, I knew in my heart that he would do the best job.  And he did.  He listened to what I wanted (and didn’t want!), answered my million-and-one questions and guided me to make the right choices.  My recovery was unbelievably fast.  Everyone I know who’s had augmentation (and that’s A LOT of women) was amazed at not only how quickly I recovered, but  how awesome I look.  They are completely natural, like they’ve always been there.  (FYI  I went from a 34A to a 32C/D.)  In fact, many people have requested his contact info because they plan to switch doctors.

Any plastic surgeon can perform augmentation.  But not every plastic surgeon performs it the way Lowen does (with electrocautery dissection).  And you could probably pay less than Dr. Lowen charges.  But having him perform it was worth EVERY penny.  He’s not cheap, but it’s surgery, and it’s true that you get what you pay for.  I wanted natural looking (but larger) boobs with minimal discomfort and disruption to my life. (I work, have 4 kids and am active/exercise).  And I got it.  Thank  you, Dr. Lowen!  You’re a God-send!

J A.

Mountain View, CA

12/17/2010

I finally decided to get a tummy tuck and small breast augment, and asked for referrals from friends and yelp.  Dr. Lowen was my choice after meeting the other doctors, because of these reasons:

1. His before and after photos. He showed me several books, and went through them pointing out skin and shapes like mine, to show me the possibilities. He knew each one, and what he had done. I liked his results and fact his pics were not professional pictures of gorgeous babes like one dr I went to.

2. He listened to what I wanted, and only offered his opinion after I asked for it.  The other doctors both told me what I should get, and one even disparaged my decision for small augmentation.

3. He is very up to date on his research, and discussed things on several levels with me.  I had been considering fat transplants for my breast augmentation, and when I asked if he would do it he said he would. We discussed it as equals with much thought, and I appreciated his time very much.  By the way he did not charge for the consultation, unlike two other doctors.

Scheduling the surgery was hectic, and his office staff was terrific when I called and changed it several times.

After surgery Dr. Lowen called me twice, to make sure I was fine and offer advice for issues I had with pain, then gas of all things.

I am 3 days post surgery, and I feel terrific. I attribute a lot of it to getting really fit this last year, but also to Dr. Lowen for his careful attention to detail regarding the surgery and the after care garments and medicines.
I highly recommend him.

As other posters have mentioned, he does not come across as a touchy-feely doctor.  He is very intense, very quiet spoken, and often seems surprised certain information does not seem obvious to me, but I attribute it to the fact that his mind seems to run very fast.

Certainly he is not perfect, who is? I am so glad I chose him for my surgery.  I will update the results in February when I have had a chance to heal.

Pa P.

Georgetown, TX

10/31/2010

After a freak accident in July, 2010, which amputated half of the index finger on my dominant hand, I needed a hand specialist to address the issue and determine the best way to proceed.  Dr. Lowen was highly recommended by several medical professionals in the San Jose area.
Dr. Lowen explained, in detail, the various options I had, and accepted my decision without question.  He did an outstanding job of grafting and closing my finger.  He worked with me through the very painful recovery and was always on the lookout for any emerging psychological issues due to my loss.
Dr. Lowen is not warm and fuzzy.  What I needed was not a Mr. Feel Good – I needed an outstanding medical professional to fix my injury with as little loss of function as possible.  Through the four months that he and his staff worked with me, I knew that I had chosen correctly.  I developed a deep liking for him and an overwhelming respect for his medical skills.

W a.

Fremont, CA

10/9/2010

It’s been three months since my surgery. I’m so happy with my tummy tuck and breast augmentation. Dr Lowen was great and his stuff made me feel very comfortable.

Smarty Pants P.

Santa Clara, CA

9/24/2010

Okay, I do agree that Dr. Lowen doesn’t have that  ”warm & fuzzy” personality.  He sort of reminds me of Woody Allen. Bit corky but excellent at his job…

I got my breast augmentation from him many years ago.  At the time, I interviewed and did tons of research on different plastic surgeons. I decided to go with him because I can tell right away he was a perfectionist.  After the surgery, I developed some scar tissue under my arm where the stitches were.  He fix them right away and now it’s barely visible.

I’m not sure why people complaint about his personality.  So what if he is bit dry, he is not a therapist.   You want someone like Dr. Lowen who is very meticulous and does a great job.

Three of my girlfriends have gone to him and they are all very happy with their result.  I would go back to him in a heart beat if I ever needed any work done.

So if you are looking for a Dr. Personality, Dr. Lowen is not that person. However, if you want someone who is good at what he does and who is a perfectionist then he worth checking out.

W A.

Fremont, CA

Updated – 9/20/2010

Most people would consider me fit and in shape however, after having two children and losing over 100 poundsno matter how much i worked out I wasnt able to reverse the effects. My abdominal skin was severely stretched and had a reduced volume of my breasts. I decided to have a abdominalplasty (tummy tuck) and breast implants. After a month of research and multiple consultations I consulted with Dr. Lowen. He was extremely thorough and was able to address every question I had for this extensive surgery. After the consultation, I was very impressed and I set a surgery date. Now after six weeks post op my results have exceeded my expectations. I am able to wear a bathing suit without hesitations. I feel confident in my daily activities. I couldn’t thank Dr. Lowen enough for his attention to detail, including him calling me personally everyday after the surgery to check on my condition and my progress. I’m not one to usually write thank you letters for doctors, but from Dr. Lowen’s amazing talent and the attention of his staff I am extremely impressed.

Caroline A.

San Jose, CA

8/21/2010

I read the reviews for Dr. Lowen and was very surprised. I had gone to see him about the same time; Spring and early Summer of 2009.

I had interviewed many, *many* doctors to perform my breast reduction surgery. My husband and I’s business was struggling financially  (as was every business owner) so cost was a deciding factor during my search. Here is what I used as my criteria:
-Cost (out of my pocket)
-Accepted my insurance (Blue Shield)
-The doctor had to have “before” and “after” pictures of actual patients they performed the same surgery on, and available for me to view.

The variation of the “after” pictures amongst the different doctors surprised me. I was also shocked at what some women were allegedly happy to settle for. I was so mortified with one doctor’s portfolio, that I asked her pointedly if her clients were happy with the results she had achieved for them. She said that they were. Hmm. She also said that the surgery would take about 2-3 hours. Double hmm.

After interviewing about 5 doctors in person (I did phone interviews and also web research), I had selected Dr. Lowen to perform my surgery. Here is why:
I could see immediately that he was meticulous. When I reviewed his portfolio with him, he could recount in fantastic detail each one of his surgeries. I remember remarking on one patient’s results as “incredible”, as it was obvious that she was suffering considerably from the size of her breasts in the “before” photo. He agreed on the medical points, but he immediately noted how many cc’s he removed from each breast during the procedure and how many cc’s he would like to have taken out, and how it would have affected the contouring of her breasts. These are details that I would have not noticed, but that he saw with crystal clarity. I asked when he performed the surgery, expecting that it was within the last few years. It was over 10 years ago! He was just as meticulous with each photo I subsequently asked about.
I remember telling him that he was probably born an accountant, but that he grew up to be a plastic surgeon. :)
In the end, it was the financing that kept me from having him perform my procedure. It wasn’t for lack of trying however. He saw me for 2 or 3 appointments after that, on his own time, to file my paperwork and photos to my insurance company. When they wouldn’t budge after a couple of rounds, he suggested a loan. When I was denied for the medical loan, he followed up with the loan company to try and persuade them. This is when I decided it was not going to work.

Through this whole process, I learned a lot about how doctors outside of the HMOs and PPOs work. The doctors that I would trust, like Dr. Lowen, choose to work on their own so that they can do business their own way. The PPO doctor I interviewed (and was recommended to me, BTW), spent 2-3 hours on her procedure; Dr. Lowen spends a minimum of 5 and an average of 6 hours on the same procedure.
The 1st doctor *has* to spend 2-3 hours on the procedure; that’s all everyone is going to get paid for from the insurance company. “Everyone” is: the doctor, the nurses, the surgery room, the anesthesiologist, etc.
Dr. Lowen rents a nice office, but he still has to rent the surgery facility, pay the nurse(s), pay the anesthesiologist, etc. Not much “wiggle room” for his fees.
Other doctors that had wiggle room in their fees owned their own surgery facility, had a diversified practice, etc. Factors that allowed them to spread “costs”, i.e., losses, over a larger spread.
In Summary:
If you’re looking for a plastic surgeon, if you care as much about the aesthetics as you do the medical reasons and you can afford today’s healthcare costs, please give Dr. Lowen a call. He’s a good surgeon and seems to be a very nice gentleman. I hope that he can weather the economic climate, as I would hate to think that the community could lose such a talent.

Patricia S.

Graham, TX

8/2/2010

Dr. Lowen is great!!!! I have tattoo eyebrows, I went to have them touched up. Wow the lady changed the shape which left the OLD shape. She said she could fix it. I was stuck!!!! It was awful I thought I would be defaced for life. Then a blessing Dr. Lowen. I go for treatments for REMOVAL of the old tattoo. It works, I have gone three times already and I can see the old tattoo fading away. Dr. Lowen is a life saver for me. After all this is done I plan to have other services done. He does cosmetic surgery services Dr. Lowen is so nice and his staff is also. I will never to thank him enough. Try going to his office you will be very happy with anything and all Dr. Lowen does. I believe like any other place of business you pay for all services it is not a let’s make a deal. Dr. Lowen is great I am telling all my friends who want things done.

Brenda B.

San Mateo, CA

4/15/2010

I have been to several other plastic surgeons in the bay area and none match the professionalism, work, and time spent as Dr. Lowen.

Nancy F.

Los Altos, CA

1/10/2010

I went to Dr. Lowen explaining that I wanted a “tummy tuck” to help augment support of my spine after back surgery. (The stomach muscles help support the spine).  The cosmetic outcome was secondary to my primary concern.  However, I have the most incredible body thanks to Dr. Lowen…not only do I have that extra support for my spine, (I can now lay flat on my back for over 1/2 hour without spasm), but I have a 25″ waistline, and I’m over 50 years old.
I received wonderful support from the doctor and his staff. Most importantly, Dr. Lowen’s craft and ability as a surgeon is second to none.

Wendy W.

Saratoga, CA

1/14/2009

Dr. Lowen has helped me so much.  He is very detail oriented which is what you want when you have someone working on your face.  I’ve had facial surgery and also laser work, botox and radiesse.  He’s the only doctor I’ll let touch my face.
His staff is professional and he’s a pleasure to be around.

Heidi K.

San Jose

1/13/2009

This Man/Doctor is amazing!!!!!  let me just say i have been seeing him for 5 years now, and had a Breast augmentation in 2004 and have gotten nothing but compliments on them, my friends even tell me I have the best breasts! LOL!!  Hardly any bruising and I actually washed my hair the next day. If you want this done ladies… this is the man to see!  I have referred over ten people to his office and they all love him and what he does!  I have been getting botox now for about two years, and I wouldn’t go anywhere else, I recently had my lips done and once again he didn’t go overboard, and  I have gotten nothing but compliments on them, I didn’t want those big puffy lips I really didn’t want it to be too noticeable and what he did was perfect once again… just enough to smooth out the lines and give a nice little pout!  I can’t say enough about his methods, he is the by far one of the best in his field..and I wouldn’t even entertain the thought of going to anyone but him.. If you are thinking of having anything done… Please…. go see this Doctor if you want the best!!!!  He and his staff are incredible!!!

Jill G.

San Diego, CA

1/7/2009

Last Friday 1/2/09 I had breast augmentation surgery performed by Dr. Lowen. I heard nothing but horror stories from people about how bad it would hurt to have my boobs done…those people obviously did not go to Dr. Lowen. With Dr. Lowen my pain level even right out of surgery on a scale of 1-10 never went over a 5. Once I got home my pain (if you want to call it that) was more stiff and sore (like you would be after a good workout) than anything, I wouldn’t even call it a pain level. I was provided with pain meds but didn’t even need them. I had no bruising and even went to my company’s holiday party on Sunday (and danced). Dr. Lowen and his staff are great, I had my follow up appointment on Monday and everything looks great. I couldn’t be happier! My boobs look great and even 5 days post are feeling and looking natural and I’m sure they will only get better. I would by far recommend Dr. Lowen to anyone!

Wendy R.

San Mateo, CA

12/12/2008

Dr. Robert Lowen is a perfectionist.  He did a midface lift and eye job on me a few years ago.  It was amazing because I had NO bruising.  Now I go to him for Botox, Radiesse, skin tightening, skin care products like Obagi and Kinerase.  His staff is very helpful and just plain old nice people.  It’s a pleasure going there.  Dr. Lowen is a skilled surgeon and being a perfectionist makes him an amazingly skilled surgeon.  I met him many years ago when he literally saved my husband’s hand from a condition called RSD.  I am very grateful to him.    Wendy R.

Ms.M.

Saratoga, CA

11/21/2008

Dr. Lowen performed a tummy tuck for me after I was finished giving birth to several children. He did an excellent job that left me with a barely noticeable scar across my lower abdomen. He is an artist with perfection in mind with his work. I am so happy with my results and would highly recommend Dr. Lowen.
I now buy my skin products, like Obagi and receive different skin procedures throughout the year. He has a friendly staff who are knowledgeable on the best skin products they know work.

Michelle A.

Palo Alto, CA

11/20/2008

I had my breast augmentation surgery at 3pm on Friday afternoon and was grocery shopping later that night.  I felt great and was so happy with my new breasts!  I had no bruising, no bleeding and only had to take motrin to stay perfectly comfortable.  I even hosted my daughter’s 10th birthday party/sleepover the following day!  Dr. Lowen and his staff are very nice, personable and professional.  Every aspect of my experience was fabulous.

When I was researching my procedure, I talked to a lot of people.  My coworker said that her friend had the best boobs!  She went from an A+ to a D and they looked and felt super real.  I talked with her friend and she said that no one even knows she’s had surgery.  She recommended Dr. Lowen and I’m so happy she did!  He’s an artist!  My new boobs and I went to Miami two weeks after surgery and we looked great in our new bikini!

Verified reviews from an independent source: Terillion


Contact Us Now!

  • * (denotes required field)

  • Connect With Us

    "Outstanding results come from superb surgeon skills. I have dedicated my working life to the art of medicine and surgery. My artistic vision and intense attention to detail, as well as my real concern for my patients' happiness, are what have lead to such high satisfaction."